2023 Cum Laude Inductees

Congratulations to the members of the Class of 2023 who were inducted into the Cum Laude Society at a dinner in the library on June 5. Special guest speaker Professor Agnes Callard of the University of Chicago spoke via Zoom about the opportunities and limits of travel, including those of the educational journey, in addressing the inductees and their families.

Congratulations to all of this year’s inductees: Giulio Basilico, Nicole Bogdanos, Hannah Crowley, Dylan Dehnert, Sebastian de Luque, June Dorsch, William Howell, Benjamin Hunter, Lucas Hunter, Selah Ilunga-Reed, Tyler Jacobus, Tesvara Jiang, Fox Kloske, Brianna Kwan, Sasha Lifton Lewis, Katherine Lopez, Emily Mansfield, Shaza Mousa, Atiya Pope, Alfonso Rada, Sam Schlanger, Rory Schoenberger, Tobias Smith, Sophie Stamicar, Jackson ten Oever, Yihan Wang, and Kyle Williams.

The Cum Laude Society

Cum Laude is the country’s oldest secondary school scholastic honor society. Modeled on Phi Beta Kappa, it was developed at the beginning of the country day school movement in 1906 to name distinctive achievements in independent schools. Poly has had a long association with Cum Laude, being among the original 13 charter signatures in 1906. The Cum Laude Society was based on the ideals of Areté (Excellence), Dikē (Justice), and Tîmê (Honor).