Major Awards Ceremony 2021

For the second year, Poly celebrated our Middle and Upper School Major Awards Assembly virtually on May 21. As Head of School Audrius Barzdukas P’20 said, the annual end-of-year ceremony honors our “finest students, citizens, athletes, and creators.” Every day these students “brought all of themselves” and inspired us all, so we honor them.

Middle School Major Awards

Head of Middle School Andre Del Valle P’29, ’33 said that the Middle School honorees were not only scholars, but also contributors to our community with their excellence, sportsmanship, and willingness to take intellectual risks.

Congratulations to the Middle School Awardees:

  • Marie Corkhill Award: Nora Panzo ’28
  • Maryanna Sheller Award: Brianna Sylvain ’27
  • Ralph K. Dupee Award: Zoe Panzo ’26 and Sylvie Dorsch ’26
  • Marjorie Bull Award: Lena Shamos ’25
  • Myron Ruckstull Award: Stavroula Gabriel ’25
Upper School Major Awards

Michal Hershkovitz P’16, ‘18, Assistant Head of School, Academics, praised “the outstanding members of the Class of 2021 “for their resilience in this year like no other” when we, as a school community, “not only survived, but thrived.”

Congratulations to the winners of this year’s Upper School Major Awards:

  • Poly Cup: Makieda McKenzie ’21
  • Joseph Dana Allen Award: Gauri Purohit ’21
  • Williams Prize for Intellectual Curiosity: Mati Hassan ’21
  • Creativity Prize: Charlotte Knutsen ’21
  • Scull Plaque: Joshua Khoshayev ’21, Calliope Lissak ’21
  • School Service Award: Talia Marash ’21

Head of School Barzdukas said of these students, “You inspire us every day….Be true to who you are always.”